No Sound from 'F' Numbers

Newbie input I have a basic Western Master with elink. On loading railmaster I get the sound of a train through the speakers ok. When I click on the sounds using the f numbers  there is nothing. The whistle f button goes green for approx 4 seconds, as if it's working, but no sound.  Can I get sound through the speakers.? Yes I do have the box ticked for sound. Is there something else I  have missed?.

I'm pretty sure the Western Master loco does not have a sound decoder fitted, so the Fn buttons will have no effect. There are some sound files provided with railmaster which can be played through the pc speakers, but very few of them are the sounds of locos. The sound you hear when RM starts can be switched off if you don't like it.

Ray

As Ray has stated. The Western Master Loco is NOT sound equipped. When you press the (Sound) Function Buttons on your controller, a DCC (Digital) code is sent to the selected loco. If the loco does not have a sound decoder fitted then the command is ignored.

Google "Fitting DCC sound" to get a flavour for what is involved. Sound upgrades to locos can cost in the range of £40 to £100 depending upon sound decoder brand, make and model. There are other sound effect boards that can be fitted (cheaper) to a loco, but these are not operated by the controller function buttons. These cheaper units just have motion detectors built in that start a loco sound when it moves. For example a 'chuff chuff' sound for stream or a diesel sound for diesel locos. With sound you get what you pay for.......

Search this forum for "Sound", your question (or variations of your question) have been asked and answered many times before.