DCC Decoder Help

red canary

Hello all,

Im new to model trains having only bought my first sets two days ago (already regret not getting into them years ago)

Just wondered if anyone could help advis me on the choice of encoders for my quickly increasing fleet,

Just want apologise now for lack of info but im typing this on the bus to work,

So these are what I have,

Virgin pendolino (would I need two?)

Tornado pullman

Caledonian belle

Lowland carrier

Smokey joe

Any help on which decoders for which trains would be greatly appreciated, 

Nearly all Hornby loco's use an eight-pin decoder. Some of the very small tank engines (and N gauge) need a six pin. Then there are two variants, the direct plug-in, and the one with a bundle of wires to find room for!

Most of the other big company's loco's use a 21 pin decoder.

It should say on the box, and in the instructions, which one you need.

Disregarding the sound decoders, there are only two Hornby eight-pins, the basic one, and the Sapphire, which is better for larger loco's and longer trains, as it can handle more power.

The basic one is sufficient for most smaller layouts.

'

What controller are you using? If you have the select, there are some decoders it doesn't like, and can refuse to play!

@Red Canary....as with many things in life, size matters and applies to decoder choice. So I would suggest you initially buy one each of the Hornby R8249 and Hattons DCR-8pin-harness decoders. You will immediately notice the difference in size so when you take off your loco bodies you will soon see which size fits. The Hattons is much smaller and I find it is needed for most steam locos to fit inside the boiler where the R8249 is too big. My Tornado loco has the Hattons decoder installed and that works ok with the Select controller.   HB

I see the Forum Police are about! And not even the Hornby ones!  ;)