Hornby E-Link Disconecting

Hi There

My Name is Adam, I am new to the whole trainset and RM system so please go easy on me.

I have a small hornby set with the E-Link controller,
i have read all manuals programmed the Locs ect but when ever i go to
record a programme the E-Link drops out.

could any one posibly shed some light onto my situation please as its quite fustrating, the E-Link is plugged into a usb 3.0 port if thats any help

Thanks Guys
Adam

Welcome EBS

As you are using eLink you must also be using Rail Master (RM) installed on a PC/Laptop/etc as it can't work on it own.

(Another Adam - the site Admin - should move this to the Rail Master forum for you where it will be seen by more people with RM knowledge.)

From the Help icon in RM a screen pops up with the facility to report in any faults that you get.

Type in your email twice and describe the problem. It will ask if you have read the manuals, see the forums, etc then you can send it. It takes a while for RM to collect and send the files it needs as seen by a yellow bar. Don't fiddle while this is progressing as I have noted it can mess up the send process.

If you do it right then HRMS (Hornby Rail Master Support - as opposed to Hornby Customer Care) will immediately send you an email acknowledging receipt of your report and they will in due course get back to you with an answer.

USB 3.0 connections may/may not be a problem as people have pointed out depending upon your PC make.

EBS

I'm using Win 8.1 and my Elite and eLink are connected using a USB 3.0 motherboard adaptor so generally you should be fine.

One quick check you could make is to look at the Comm port your eLink is using in PC Control Panel/Device Manager/Ports then right click for properties, then select the port settings tab and make sure the baudrate is the same as the numbers shown in the RM settings panel (115,200). It may be 19,200 in Dev Mgr,  which is the Elite rate.