Railmaster runs locos but can't read/write their CV

Dear all,

I have a Railmaster with elink running quite well until today on my n gauge track.

I used it successfully with a Hornby R8249, another brand DCC decoder and a Bac..n DCC loco.

Yesterday I tried 2 NEW locos by another famous brand (F...) bought at bargain price on Ebay (locos are different model but both brand new) and putting them on track (not in the same time obviously) I can run both perfectly and switch on/off the lights, reverse direction etc. The address of both is "3" as usual for new devices.

Then I put the first on the programming track to change the address and I cannot read or write any CV! During the reading procedure the loco moves a little in the programming track!

I tried with the other and.... same result. I read all 255.

I already made some other test:

1. Put my old locos on programming track: OK

2. Disconnect the main track when trying read/write CV of the new locos: fail

3. Run again the new locos o main track: OK

The problem is only the read/write CVs. 

Do you have any suggestion?

Since one of the locos moved a little (which is normal with some decoders) that would suggest a connection between the PROG output of your eLink and your lcoo decoder (i.e. clean track, wheels and pick-ups).  Therefore, the other thing to check is whether the power clip or power track you are using to the prgramming track is analogue or digital.  An analogue power connector has a small capacitor inside which interferes with the DCC programming signal.  Just clip open the power connector by hand and if you see a small capacitor inside soldered across both inputs just snip it out with a pair of cutters.

If it's not a capacitor and you know your cable connection, wheels, track, pick-ups are clean then it only really leaves the loco decoder (although more than one being faulty is unlikely) or the PROG output of your eLink (which is also unlikely in our experience).