R8247 Accessory Decoder Output Question

Ed_Cairns

I am fairly new to DCC but have had basically no problem connecting the R8247 to point motors such as R8243. However, at certain areas of my layout I employ two points to move from an inside to an outside loop of track. These two points always need to switch together. My question is this: 

Can a single output on a R8247 decoder drive two point motors so that only one DCC address applies to two point motors? Could this damage the output of a R8247 or would it simply not work? If it was electrically okay to drive two point motors in parallel would I need to adjust the CV's?

Or am I stuck using one R8247 output per point motor?

Thanks in advance!

Ed, welcome to the forum with your 1st post.

In principal you can do either. Many users here wire two solenoid point motors in parallel to a single R8247 port output without issue. In rare situations (subject to the point motors used and the quality of their installation - alignment etc) the output of the R8247 might not have enough oomph (if you have this issue then look at my alternative suggestion below). There is no requirement to alter any additional R8247 CVs, not that there are many to adjust anyway.

I have three R8247 (12 ports) serving 17 points. Seven ports for individual point motors and five ports for twin point motors - giving the total of 17 points.

Alternatively to having an individual port address for every individual point motor, you can give TWO different R8247s the SAME DCC port addresses, say purely for example port addresses 17-20 then when you tell port 17 to switch, BOTH R8247s will respond and switch their 1st port, then similarly with ports 18, 19 & 20. This way you can achieve the result of getting one port address to switch two points together, but with the advantage that each point solenoid gets the full available R8247 firing current.