Convert standard Flight Of The Mallard Train Set loco to TTS?

WeeWillyWinky

Newbie alert - do not read further if this offends 😆

Title says it all basically. I'm pretty new to this (well I had a set in the 1970s but have only just got back to it). On taking a bit of advice from people, I understood that it is relatively straight forward to upgrade DCC ready Hornby locomotives to DCC versions, and that you can also get sound if you use the right chip (the Sapphire chip was recommended to me).

The problem is that I cannot seem to be able to locate the chip on sale that will make a standard Hornby loco to the TTS version. In all the descriptions of the Sapphire chip I have read, there is no mention of sound whatsoever, so it is pretty clear to me that this is not going to be the answer. Is it possible to buy the TTS chip from Hornby - is it a seperate sound chip, or does it do movement and sound both?

I will be very disappointed if I cannot convert this loco as I was always intending on doing so (I got the set half price, hence why I did not buy the TTS outright). I know Hattons doe a sound chipping service but that costs silly money (easily over a a hundred pounds), while the hope point of TTS is that it is a budget option in reach of non wealthy people like me.

Hope someone can advise. Cheers

WWW, welcome to the forum with your 1st post......and welcome to the world of DCC sound for people with deep pockets.