Hornby Select

newcastle62

HI All

This is my first post as I am pretty new to model railways (less than 3 months). My wife bought me the mixed freight set for my 54th birthday as I have always wanted a train set since the age of 10. As good as the Select is I think that I may have outgrown it. I wish to buy the Elite but before I do I could do with some advice (with thanks).

I have bought 4 Hornby surface mounted point motors, DCC Accessory Controller, various locos with lighted carriages and so on. My set up is basically the Hornby double loop built up using all standard packs up to "Track Extension E". 

The point motors refuse to work and it seems as if the "Select" is not "man enough" for the job. Would that be the case? and if it is would using the Elite resolve this problem?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Dave

The Hornby R8247 Accessory Decoder works perfectly well with the Hornby Select controller and its 1 amp power supply. If it is not working, then you have not configured it up correctly yet.

Straight out of the box, the R8247 is configured with port addresses 1 to 4. This address range is not compatible with the Select controller and needs to be reconfigured to addresses starting at 61. Refer to the user guide for the R8247 where this is explained. If port one is configured as 61, then ports 2 two to four will be automatically configured as addresses 62 to 64.

The R8247 user guide datasheet explains about the Select addressing scheme required for point control. The Select user guide (page 27) tells you how to perform the re-configuration and then how to operate the points.

The R8247 will not be able to operate points with the Select until the above re-configuration has been performed.