R8247 and signals

Den999

Hi everyone i am new to train and layouts and already have made some critical errors. 

I now have a fairly stable Fleischmann N gauge DCC layout with a separate 12v bus power supply for the street lamps, cars, houses and station lights. And Hornby R8247 point controller serving my 4 Fleischmann turnouts  all workin very well. What I would like to add is a Dapol 2l-001-001 signal to one of my points. What I thought I would do is connect the signal power to the 12v bus and connect the signal control to the same point controller I want signal controlled. Sounds too easy after the problems I have had. All school errors.

can anyone help me please.

kind regards

Den

The Dapol web site does not seem to publish any user guides for their products, so I have not been able to fully research your issue. From the minimal amount of information I have gleamed from the Dapol product pages I have deduced that the Dapol 21-001-001 is not compatible with the Hornby R8247 as it uses a completely different control system. Apart from which, you have already stated that all four ports on your current R8247 are being used to control points.

As a matter of principle, electronic circuits require current return paths. It is not electronically practicable to connect a device to a 12 volt power supply (the Dapol website infers the power supply required to be 16 volts AC anyway) and then control it from a completely different power source (i.e the R8247) without at least one of the supply rails being common to both power sources. What you are asking to do is just not electrically viable without a custom made interface.