Hornby Class 37 Ringfield DCC Conversion

Arthur Dent

Hello folks,

Please be gentle - first post and apologies if this has been asked before.

I have an aged Hornby Class 37 which I would like to convert to DCC by adding a decoder.

I have figured out the following:

It has a Ringfield motor and covered by Service Sheet 210 (URL: http://www.hornbyguide.com/service_sheet_details.asp?sheetid=263)

I need a Hornby Sapphire Decoder (R8245).

What I can't figure out is how the loco is wired up.

It seems that it takes power from one rail in one bogie and power from the other rail from the other bogie.

As such, would it be a simple matter to add a DCC Decoder and, if so, has anybody documented the procedure.

I'm a DCC noob - so any help in "simple-to-understand" Noddy language would be appreciated.

Thanks for reading this post, I hope someone can help/advise.

Cheers

Art

Hello Arthur - have you got your towel?

Regarding the Ringfield, most of them had one wire running from an insulated pick-up on one axle, and the return was directly though the chassis to the uninsulated side of the wheel/axle.

So - you have to find a way of isolating the motor brush from the chassis, then connecting the decoder to the pick-ups and chassis, and to the motor, but NOT to the chassis, otherwise you will be having an instant fry-up of chips!

If you hunt around the forum, you will probably find a better description, with a step by step procedure to go through.

BUT before you start dismembering the chassis, check on DC that the motor works correctly, and that the brushes and commutator are not worn down. Check also that the magnet hasn't decayed with age, and lost it's pull, or you will find that the motor draws lots of amps, but doesn't work very well.

Again, if you hunt around the site, you will find a place where you can get the magnet restored, and a description of how to replace brushes and clean the commutator.

(Edit for a typo)