New DCC end to end layout

Gary steel

Hello. I am new to the world of model railways. With limited space available I have opted for a set shelf layout,with flexi track to join up to my run around at a later stage. My Majestic DCC set is on the way along with several track peices to make my siding and "smokey joe" which I plan to chip. My question is, will it be too difficult to operate a small 0-4-0 as a shunter via the e-link system or should I consider getting an Elite controler? I also plan on installing a turn table with multiple engine sheds later on.. would I need a second controler for the TT (non dcc) ?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

The Elite doesn't care what type of loco you have. It just knows there's a decoder in it and operates it in the same way it operates any other loco.

You can control the turntable with a loco decoder or an analogue controller.

You will need to isolate the turntable tracks as I remember to avoid short circuits. There are plenty of discussions about how to do it elsewhere on the forums.

Hi Gary - welcome to the forum. I would recommend you start off with the e-link and see how you get on. The Elite is not a cheap option and although more capable than the e-link the sort of functionality you are asking for does not make the expenditure worthwhile. Let us know how you get on. R-

Welcome to the forums Gary.  There should be no problem operating your shunter from the screen in RM, so definitely start with just the eLink and see how you go.