eLink Western Master Short Circuit

Hi all,

firstly please excuse me, I'm VERY new to all this, having recently puchased a Western Master set with eLink. My first set since being a kid.

Yesterday I took it out of the box and assembled it to check everything works ok. After some fiddling around with drivers and software, the loco came to life and happily shunted and cruised both forwards and backwards on demand from the railmaster software.

Just as I was happily watching it go in circles round the track, it stopped dead, followed by the sound of the USB on the pc disconnecting, then a second or so later reconnecting.

The system seemed to think there was a short circuit, and following the on-screen prompt, I re-set everything and tried again. Now when I ask the loco to move forwards or backwards (cruise or shunt) it moves about 1cm, and stops, then the eLink disconnects and reconnects from the PC and the whole saga starts again.

I look the body from the engine to see if there was any obvious short circuit inside, nothing to be seen.

As a brand new set, I must say I'm massively disappointed for the thing to stop working not 5 minutes after first running.

Does anyone have any ideas? I have checked for updates and the software is the latest version, the firmware on the eLink seems to be the latest version too. Do i have a duff engine? (Unfortunately I only have the one so I can't check with a different one.) If it is faulty, what now? The chain shop I bought it from is some 3 hours away (purchased on holiday,) so can't take it back to them.

Thanks in advance

I had a similar problem with is set, the short was caused when the train passed over the point. It appears your particular loco my have corrupted itself and the DCC chip requires resetting, that I beleive is to write the value 8 to CV8. I am sure someone will confirm this.