Hornby Select and peco surface points

Daveeho

Hello, 

I am a newbie to the site, and have returned to model railways after at lot of years, things have changed! I am setting up a layout in dcc and have fitted some Peco surfance mounted points, I wired them as instructed back to the Select Control unit via a switch, they work, but on switching the Select resets and puts me in to start up mode ( 3 ) and if I am using another LA I have to re-enter that number - why is this? Your help would be greatly appreciated.

David

Hello Dave - welcome to the forum.

Are you operating your points via DCC command or the alternative DC supply of the Select? It sounds as though the Select is seeing a short and re-setting itself.

R-

David, welcome to the forum.

By switch, I assume you mean a physical electrical switch and NOT a DCC Accessory Decoder.

I am also assuming that you are using the auxiliary output of the Select controller. The output terminals on the right hand side as looking towards the back panel.

On the basis that these two assumptions are correct:

The power supply unit supplied with the Select is only rated at 1 amp, only a proportion of this current is available for this auxiliary output, and is inadequate for operating the points directly. A solenoid point motor has a very low impedance (resistance) and is a device that requires a very high initial operating current. Typically about 4 amps.

The bottom line is that by connecting the surface mounted Solenoid point motor via an electrical momentary switch to the Select, you are overloading the Select power supply by trying to draw too much current through it and its attached 1 amp power supply is resetting, causing the Select to restart.

Personally, I would use a dedicated separate power supply for the points. A laptop 19 volt DC switch mode power supply is ideal and can be purchased very cheaply indeed.