Help -Hornby R8213 DCC plus Hornby R8012 HM 2000 on same set

PedroNolasco

Hello

I am new at this, just started think what to do.Received from a friend some old pieces. A few questions regarding electric system. 1-Can  i join on same set both R8213DCC and a R8012 HM2000 controler? Do they need to be totaly separated tracks or i can join them?  2- Does DCC locos work with non DCC controler? And other way around, can a non DCC loco work on a DCC track? If they are on same track, some locos have decoder so they are runing under DCC controler, and the others without decoder runing on normal power controler? I have see some videos, and people are passing wire under the table and connect with smaller wire to the tracks. does this is necessary or depends on track lenght? 3- and final - The Hornby digital 15V 4Amp tranformer, do i connect it to the R8213DCC replacing the original, 1amp transformer? Is this to be possible to run more locos?

Thanks a lot for your help. I am very excited to start doing things.

Pedro

Pedro, welcome to the forum.

1-Can  i join on same set both R8213DCC and a R8012 HM2000 controler? Do they need to be totaly separated tracks or i can join them?

Under no circumstances must you allow the output of the HM2000 to come into contact with the output of the R8213 DCC controller.

If you connect the HM2000 to track oval #1 and the R8213 to track oval #2, you can then run a DC loco on the HM2000 track and DCC fitted locos on the R8213 track, but to reiterate. Do NOT have any point (turnout) crossovers between the two ovals, not even if using insulated rail joiners. The output of the HM2000 will damage the R8213 if it comes into contact.

Some on here will say that you could put in electrical switches to switch the different controllers in and out of circuit, but it only takes a tiny lapse in concentration to forget to throw a switch and the R8213 could become damaged.