Installing red/green lights on layout

pidge456

Hi everyone, hope you are all well. I'm relatively new to all this technical stuff so have a question. I have a DCC set up using a select controller with 3 accessory decoders controlling the points (12 points in all). I find it a bit of a pain to know whether my points are in the right position for train movement so have to visually check the points position. I would like to add a simple red/green signal to each point eventually. I like the look of the traintech signals but they are rather expensive. Is it possible to connect a simple signal to the accessory decoder outlet of each point so that the signal will change when the point does. I have seen some signals which have three wires (red/green and black Everest JTD01 I think) can these just be connected to the decoder or is it not as simple as that.

Many thanks Andy.

Hi Andy

Unfortunately not quite as simple as connecting a signal or pair of LEDs to the output of the accessory decoder being used for point operation.  Reason is... The decoders output is  a momentary pulse of power to the point motor.. Lights/LEDs will need a continuous supply.  

IMO the simplest is to use a Gaugemaster GM500D connected to the three terminals of the decoder together with the point motor wires and then via the units relay contacts the signal aspects or LEDs are fed.

There was a topic here just recently about the same/similar thing...  http://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/adding-hornby-signal-lights-to-hornby-points-/?p=1

Red Green Signals need an always 'ON' output. Your Solenoid points use a 'Pulse' output. Thus the two types of power requirements are not compatible with each other.

Have a look at this previous post (look at the reply made by FlashBang) that suggests a GaugeMaster GM500D product to supplement the output of the Accessory Decoder. So that signals can be synchronised to point positions.