Cannot Program LOCO

pando

Hi Group,

I am going mental trying to program my Bachmann L&YR Tank with Elite controller ..(DCC fitted by Hattons) it seems my writing to CV 001 is unsuccessful. I write the value 2 into it but it is still set at 3.

The "normal quick-start" way from the manual also does not change the ID away from default value (03). The same goes to my Pendolino... I can't change the ID (program the loco) so save my life... it's always on default 03.

I am relatively new to Model Trains, and jumped into it very recently... maybe I'm missing something ? Thanks in advance for any help !! ciao, Roland

Hi Pando

I know that some decoders can be locked, so that no changes can be performed.  Does your decoder have this function and is it enabled?  On my TCS T1 decoders it's CV's 15 and 16.

It might also be the mode of programming that your using, paged, direct etc?

Hi Roland

I was a little surprised to see you describing the task of re-numbering your Loco's as being a change to CV001.

You are absolutely correct in that it is CV001 that you are changing but the Elite Manual (latest version page 15 shown below) does not actually refer to it by CV number.

In order that we can try to help you, can you please confirm first of all that you are using the instructions shown here.

/media/tinymce_upload/bf2d65d019d7ee4ad5140cd55ef17385.jpg

I have nothing to add to RDS's post - just an observation - IF you intend getting more loco's, over a period of time, I would suggest that you do as I do, and use the last two or three digits of the loco running number as it's i/d number. That way you can't forget what it is!  :-)

I think we may just be talking terminology here RDS given Roland has described using the "quick-start" method, which would seem to be the same as you have referred him to?  Is that right Roland.