Reverse Loop Module not available

Mistydog

Greetings from Tasmania, I am a newbie building a room size DCC layout using E-Link and Railmaster with a 5 amp 15 V power supply, on a dedicated laptop; which contains one reverse loop (I think). I have read on this web site that the RLM is currently unavailable. Is there an alternative easy soloution or product for preventing shorts or should I redesign the layout?   Looking at a popular online auction site it appears there are still some RLM's available,  Also I notice that the Hornby RLM has a switch for Select or Elite, if I purchase online what setting would I use for E-Link and RM?  Any advice would be greatly appreciated, Thank You  - Chris 

Hi Chris

Welcome to the forum.

Hattons have more than 10 in stock

Here

No idea about postage to Tasmania though - probably about £58  😎 

From another forum (credit Flashbang)

They should work with any DCC system.The switch alters the trip current of the RLM, as the Select is only a 1.0Amp system as sold but the Elite is 3.0Amp to track.

I don't have an E-link to hand but someone will tell us what to set the switch to.

R-

The switch names on the Hornby RLM (Reverse Loop Module) are mis-leading. They relate to the current of the controller power supply. The 'Select' switch position is for controllers with the Hornby 1 amp power supply. The 'Elite' switch position is for controllers with the Hornby 4 amp power supply. You have stated a 5 amp 15 volt supply, so presumably that power supply is not a Hornby branded one. However, the Hornby RLM should be in the 'Elite' switch position for use with a 5 amp supply.

Just for completeness of information and for the benefit of other readers. If using an eLink with the default 1 amp power supply as shipped with the eLink. The Hornby RLM would use the 'Select' switch position.