Hornby Flyingscotsman power shorting

Mapadi

Inexperienced newbie here, have been running my TTS Flyingscotsman for a few months,using Railmaster through elink controller, with no problems but now it short circuits as soon as motor starts. It sits on the track with power on OK, sound starts up and carriage lights are on but as soon as motor starts I get "controller error short circuit" have tried it on a different track and always same problem. All other trains work OK and have reset to factory default but with no success.Do I need a motor replacement or any other ideas please?

I must give up on mine.

After replacing the TTS decoder with a standard Hattons one because of its jerky movement, and fixing its desire to leave the track by fitting washers to the front bogie, it decided to do a runaway and then burn out the decoder after seeming ok for a month or so. A replacement decoder suffered the same fate ( dc running was disabled on both decoders)

This thing is jinxed.

Mapadi, that is certainly a strange one.  The only other faint possibility I can think of is if it has connections on the tender post, is one of the fingers on them bent?  Otherwise return it under warranty is my suggestion.

PS.  WD, don't you think it might be better to start your own thread instead of trying to hijack this one after only one reply and no solution confirmed?  Then, you might just do a forum search on your (different to Mapadi) problems as they are well documented with known solutions in other threads.

Sorry WD, didn't realise that your TTS FS shorts out on motor start too, as described by the OP.  You only seem to have mentioned:

-  Jerky starting - the most common TTS problem from Day 1 and more threads on here than any other TTS problem.  Usually fixed or at least minimized by changing the motor algorithm but sometimes by motor replacement under warranty.