Bit of help with DCC for a total beginner

vlatheimpaler

Hi,

I am currently lloking to procure a very special christmas present for a relative who has had a tough time of it recently.  Basically, I have got everyone to club together to get a 00 gauge trainset; somehting this 65 yr old has always wanted.  I am a newbie at this, and I don't want to get burned buying a 'dead end' starter set. 

It is clear that DCC is the way ahead; but I am having problems with the guy in question  being happy with railmaster/elink.  I can provide a mini laptop to use for free, but he is a conmputer-phobe.  He feels that he wants a DCC controller; and this is really tying my hands togther in choices of set.  The 'Majestic' set looks to be killer value @ £230, vs the 'Mixed Freight' set @ £130, which is the best I can find with a DCC controller.  Once you add the extra set packs to make it worthwhile you are at £200 or so anyhow.

Is it possible to buy the basic Hornby DCC controller seperately, and add it to the Majestic set?  I know that the Elite is the best bet, but we can't stretch to that and the Majestic.  Any views on this approach?  Are there other/better DCC controllers around, that are not £200 plus?  Are there alternatove sets available?  Am looking for 2x engines/trains (ideally better than 'Jinty?' sized), plus more track than just an oval with a siding.

All views very welcome.

Hi vlat, welcome to the forum..........The Select controller bought seperately can cost £89.50 from Rails plus the PSU @ £16.99 totals £106.49 add that to the Majestic set @ £230 totals £336, no longer good value.........so, consider the Digital Freight Set @ £135 which includes 2 locos and the Select controller & PSU leaves you plenty of change to purchase the Track Packs for a better layout and some more stock.........for additional locos at bargain prices look at Hattons and Rails of Sheffield, they always have some Hornby stock available.......... 😀.............HB