Somerset bell. OL.

roebuck73

Hi im new to train sets. My som was bought a sumerset belle train set for christmas. Every time i put the set together (im in the process of mounting the track mat onto a board for him) and run the train its fine but after a while is says OL on the digital controller. I have looked at the track and cant see anything. Hope some one can help.

Thanks

Andy

Welcome to the forum Andy,

OL stands for Over Load, typically a short circuit. I'm assuming that the loco stops at the same time as OL is displayed. The stopping location would be an indicator as to where on the layout the short circuit is occurring. Would it be for example as the loco is traversing a point. Locos shorting on a point is usually more often than not due to the 'back to back' measurement between the inside faces of loco wheels (on one or more axles) being incorrect. For 00 gauge models this measurement should be 14.4mm +/- 0.05mm. To make an accurate measurement, you either need a 00 'back to back' gauge or a digital vernier. There are however other reasons why a short might occur and careful investigation and diagnostics are required to track them down. For example moving the loco very slowly by hand across the suspect location and listening out for the high pitched buzz that you get when a short occurs on a DCC system. Looking carefully at the loco wheels and observing what track parts of a point they are touching etc.

If it is not a short circuit causing OL to be displayed, then it could be a situation where there is a high current being drawn for some reason (maybe a fault with the loco, or running too many locos or accessories from the DCC supply) but not necessarily due to an actual short circuit. As we do not have the benefit of being able to look over your shoulder and observe what is happening, it is difficult to give a hard and fast diagnosis.