RESET

MAGOO

Hi,i am still learning ,please be patient.I returned a newish non functioning R2879 loco to my supplier.He returned it saying it works perfectly,just needed a decoder reset.Can anyone tell me why it occured and if it happens again can i carry out a reset myself.I have a modest layout so am only using a Hornby Select controller,do i need to upgrade to carry out a "reset" myself?If so what could you recommend?

Thank you.

Sometimes a short circuit condition on the track, such as might be caused by a derailment, can cause the decoders to become unresponsive and needing to be reset.  On many decoders, this is done by writing a value of 8 to CV 8.  Other decoders may need a different value to reset them.  Unfortunately, you cant write CVs with the Select, just one of the limitations of a basic controller.

Select can't reset a decoder. Which needs direct CV access to do so.  So if you wanted to remain with Hornby DCC (and you don't have to!) your choices are an Elite and use the Select as a slave (Walkabout) to the Elite or obtain an eLink and Railmaster software and use a PC.

Normally if a short circuit occurs and the decoder self resets, you will find its returned to address number 3 and can be readdress by the Select to its original address number between 1 and 59.

You could as an alternative option, buy a SPROG II for £45, this would be a lot cheaper than replacing your Select with another controller. It does however, require a PC to use it. This inclusive package (hardware + software, but excluding PSU) could be used to program your decoder CVs via a PC. I use SPROG II and it is an excellent bit of kit. It would give you full access to all the loco CVs that you cannot currently configure with your Select controller, including the CV8 reset CV.