Controller disconnecting and not controlling trains

Hi All

I am new to rail master.  I have an elite controller and windows 8 laptip.

I am trying out the demo version of rail master before I invest in the full licence.

I have installed the drivers as per the instructions online.  The controller is coming up as connected but when trying to control the trains nothing happens!

I am using the preprogrammed addresseses I had set from when I was using the elite controller on its own

I have tried to reprogram the addresses using the rail master and tried reading the CV settings but it keeps coming up with controller disconnected.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Hi nick, you need to check that you have the correct entries in your rsilmaster.ini file for your setup.  Go to the 2nd top locked thread in the forum, Setting Up and Getting Started and go to the last post their where HRMS details the correct entries you need.

Most likely you need to go into the RM System Settings screen and select the correct Com Port.

In the "System Settings" screen (COG icon on the top navigation bar left hand side) you will see a small blue COG icon in the bottom left hand side. Click it and Windows 'Device Manager (DM)' will open. Look at the "COM & LPT" branch of the DM tree and look for an entry that is similar to "USB Serial Port (COMx)" where x is a number and hopefully either a 3 or a 4. Make a mental note of the number. Close DM.

Now in the 'System Settings' window. Make sure that 'Controller A' says 'Hornby Elite', that DCC Controller port says the COM number you found in DM, and that the Baud rate says 19200. As per image below...... (only change the Com3 in the image below to the number you found in DM if it wasn't Com 3).

/media/tinymce_upload/f7da9a1b1682d581ac956fa568c5fcd6.jpg