setting up saphire dcc

1963rich

hi all im new to this so im abit of an idot have just bought a virgin R1155 dcc ready set im using the elink with railmaster im not sure how to program the decoder with the virgin trains set up ov cvs as there dont seem to be any information from hornby on this subject any help will be apreached

1963rich, welcome to the forum. Just for clarity. Are you saying:

You have fitted a Hornby Sapphire decoder to your DCC Ready loco?

And that you don't know what you have to do in RailMaster to configure the decoder?

Have you got as far as entering the loco into your RailMaster list of locos (loco roster) or is this initial stage still something that needs to be done.

In other words do you need a step by step guide for everything that needs to be done, literally from taking the loco out of the box or just for the decoder programming part.

If it is just the decoder programming part, is it just setting the decoder address that you want to do or more than that, you will need to be precise in your revised question wording with regard as to what you want us to help you with as your original post was a bit on the vague side.

Can you use RailMaster to operate your loco using the default 003 DCC address?

ok i guess im thinking to hard on this ill put it in the loco and see what happens but my eyesight is not the best so im not sure which is pin 1 i have seen on the internet that pin one is conected to the orange wire though when i called hornby i got a diffrent answer i wouldnt want to put it in the wrong way round so could you confirm if it is the orange one please guys

Yes, the orange wire is pin 1 on an 8 pin NEM652 decoder such as, for example, the Hornby R8249.