DCC Newbie

AndyHead78

Hi All,

I finally have the ability to set up my layout, hooray! I have all of the track extension packs to complete the Trakmat layout, with a possibility to expand at a later date. I am very new to railway modelling, and after much thought and reading of threads on this forum over the last couple of years I have decided to go with DCC. I will initially be using the Select controller, with a view to upgrading when financially feasible.

Starting up is fairly daunting and I want to make sure I have everything I need before embarking on this journey. I will be looking to control the 6 points in the layout using the controller. What will I need to purchase in order to wire up the layout enabling me to control points and multiple locos using the Select controller? Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Andy

You are almost there already, Andy.

You just need TWO point control modules - whatever the part number is (someone will leap in with it! I don't use them) - as they control four points each.

Of course, if you are having two points back-to-back as a crossover, they can be configured as one point, as they can switch together on one command.

Andy

I started with the Select and in fact I still use it but as an extra controller now (known as a Walkabout).

I only control mypoints using RailMaster, so I cannot comment on point control from the Select.  It is perfectly possible though, as stated by 2e0dtoeric above.

In terms of controlling multiple Loco's, you don't need anything else.  Your Select will control whatever your Power Supply Unit will cope with, because that will be the limiting factor, although you are limited to the DCC address range you can use (I think it is up to 59 on the Select).  As a guide, the standard Select Power Supply can usually control up to around 4 Loco's which to be honest is probably plenty, unless you have got enough track on your layout to keep them well apart.