eLink Controller issues

Terry Porter

Please forgive me is I have posted this in the incorrect forum or if I am repeating a previous question - I did look but could find nothing. I am new to modelling (at least as an adult) and not previously used the forums other than reading them.

I have just turned on my layout for the first time in a while. When it was all switched off everything was working fine, howeve, this evening when all turned on, my elite controller was emitting a loud clicking which was in perfect harmony to the LED flashing green on and off. Can anyone advise me on what this may be, what may have caused it and what if anything I can do about it. It is still under warranty.

Any help would be greatfully appreciated.

See if the clicking stops if you disconnect everything from it except the power supply and the USB lead. If it does stop clicking then there may be a short circuit on your main layout track or programming track.

If it still clicks with everything disconnected, then it has probably developed a fault and since it is under warranty, get it exchanged. At this stage, also try unplugging the USB lead as well, and power it up with just the power connected and nothing else, just to be doubly sure it is faulty.

Although not a DCC controller, I have experienced electronics that have become damaged just through the act of powering them up. I once had a PC (1980's XT) which when I pressed the on/off switch, my finger slipped off the power button causing audible arcing on the power switch contacts. The resultant power surge fried the BIOS on the Motherboard. The PC was only 1 hour old as I had just bought it and got it back home and powering it up for the very first time. The retailer was rather surprised to see me back in the shop so soon, but exchanged it for another one no quibble. I was very careful switching it on and off from then on.

Thank you for all the replies.

I was just about to post that I had fixed the issue when I saw the replies.