R8249 Decoder : electrical potential modification

Gleurp

Hi everyone,

I am new to DCC so be indulgent.  ;-)

I bought my fist decoder (R8249) and I need help :

When I test the decoder, I measure 21V between the white wire and the blue wire (I would have preferred 12V but it's ok for me)
BUT
there is (at the same time) 5V between the yellow wire and the blue wire. 
I would like to have 0V (and not 5V) between these two wires.   Is it possible? How?

Thanks for your help

Probably silly questions in response to yours -

What power source are you using? Is it something 'from the junk box' or a proper DCC controller?

If a proper DCC controller, you should be using the AC side of your test meter, and expect to see around 16v. This voltage is constant, no matter where the 'speed controller' knob is, as there is a digital output from the controller that operate the decoder chip.

The yellow wire is a switched on/off output, as is the white, and the blue is the common.

Have a look at this circuit diagram -

/media/tinymce_upload/3b83561c90ba7b2e36ac020a744b10f4.jpg

You're making measurements 'off load'. Off load readings in electronic circuits can be misleading. Decoder function outputs do not have selectable voltage outputs, well certainly not a basic decoder like the Hornby R8249. The 5v reading is most likely being measured on what in electronic terms is called a 'floating' output. It needs a load attached to get an accurate meter reading value. It may also be a 'constant current' output - see further below for the significance of this comment.

The white wire and the yellow wire are used for directional lighting. Thus when one is high, the other is low. High and low in this scenario relate to the attached lighting LEDs being either 'on' (high) or 'off' (low). Which wire is high and which wire is low is determined by the selected loco direction. The actual measured 'off load' voltages are somewhat immaterial for the reasons documented above.