problem operating points with the select DCC controller

RedRattler

hi all, i am new to the game and need some help with my dcc controller. this question has most likely been asked before so if someone could point me to a thread or some FAQs that would be appreciated.

i use a select DCC controller, the one that

comes with the mixed freight set.

i recently decided to motorise my points and have purchased some R8243 surface points, which i have connected to the analogue accessory port on the select. when i wire them up using an SPDT momentary switch the points

work fine, but when they operate the DCC controller resets.

i suspected & have since read in forums that the 1amp power supply that comes with the select is not up for controlling points, and i need to upgrade to something more powerful. is that the

case and what would be the recommended power supply.

Point motors take about 3 to 4 amps each and the standard 1 Amp power supply just can't supply this much current, resulting in the Select resetting.

Using the 4 Amp power supply (C7024) supplied with the Elite overcomes this problem. These power

supplies aren't listed on the Hornby website or in the 2011 catalogue any more so you may have trouble finding one.

An alternative is an old laptop power supply, try ebay or local computer repair shop (make sure the polarity and voltage is correct -

15Volts DC centre pin positive) or a new power supply such as this http://www.maplin.co.uk/high-power-multi-voltage-desktop-power-supply-48517

Another option is to use a Capacitor Discharge Unit (CDU) which costs about £8 to £10 between the Select

and the point motors and switches. The only problem with using a CDU is that they don't work well with Hornby point switches but there are alternatives.

Morning all