Configuring a loco in RM without lighting circuit

Hi It’s me again

I am after some help again, I would like to know that if you unplugged the lighting connectors would you still be able for to read and write CVs on a loco or do they have to be connected for to complete the circuit before you can configure the decoder 

I’m still learning about dcc and I was wondering about this as I have a loco which when I took off the body from the chassis  I must of caught the wires when I replaced the body and I was just wondering if I could disconnect the connectors would I be able for to program my decoder as usual and run it without the body for to test it also when I had first did it every time I had put it on the track it showed up as a short as one side had 1 wire off and on the other side had 2 off and they must have been touching each other causing it

I would be very grateful for any help and advice thanks very much again Hedley 

Usually the only thing that needs connecting is the motor. Think about it logically, the decoder manufacturer won't have any idea what type of loco you are going to fit the decoder to and not all locos come with lights, but they do come with a motor. Hence why decoders destined for controlling lighting in a dummy end loco usually have to be configured in the motor car before being transferred to the dummy end car. I've never come across a decoder that couldn't be configured unless lights were attached.

PS - Just for completeness of information. You can get 'Function Only' decoders to control lighting in dummy motor cars. These don't need a motor attached to configure them, but they do seem to be significantly more expensive than a normal motor control function decoder. So most people just use a standard decoder and configure it in the motor car as mentioned above.

Hi Chris