unrecognized database

willitt

Hi there,

I have a problem with my railmaster, I get this error message and my list of trains has disappeared:-

FilesRailmasterunrecognized database Format C:Program FilesRailmasterResource.mdb:

I don't know what this means and how can I fix it?

Paul Willis

resource.mdb is a database file that contains all the information about your trains. The file is normally located in your railmaster program folder.

C:...........Program Files (x86)railmaster

Either the file is missing for some reason or it has become corrupted such that the RailMaster application cannot read it.

• Use 'Windows Explorer' file manager (part of ALL Windows versions operating systems) to find the resource.mdb file.
  • If resource.mdb is present in the railmaster program folder, then temporarily move it to a temporary folder or onto a memory stick.
  • With the resource.mdb file saved elsewhere, look for and find the file resource.bak (in the same folder).
  • Assuming that resource.bak is present, 'right click' it and choose the 'rename' option. Rename the file to resource.mdb to replace the file you have just saved elsewhere. A .BAK file is a 'back-up' copy of the file with the same name.
  • Note that RailMaster must not be running when you do the above.
  • With the file renamed, start RailMaster again and see if the issue has been fixed.
  • If the issue is fixed, then you can safely delete the copy you have saved elsewhere. The next time RailMaster closes, a new resource.bak file will be created to replace the one you have just renamed to .mdb.
  • If the issue is not fixed, then the resource.bak file must have been corrupted too. In which case the only option open to you is to start afresh and re-enter ALL your loco data from scratch. You will also have to re-enter all your loco information if BOTH the .mdb AND .bak versions of the resource file are missing.