'Stay Alive' problem

EnGee

Hi All

I am quite new to model railways so apologise if this has already been asked. I have done lots of research but have been unable to find any reference to this problem. Well it's more of an annoyance than a major problem but I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I have the Mixed Freight DCC fitted set with some extra track. I have fitted the 'Stay Alive' system as described and explained excellently by Chrissaf. It works fantastically, so thanks very much Chrissaf. Don't see why they are not all fitted as standard by the manufacturer, but that's probably another story!!

Anyway, it all works perfectly OK during the day, trains start from anywhere, trains run slowly over points, etc. The problem arises when I switch off the power to the controller at the end of the day. About half a second after switching off, both trains jump forward about an inch. Not a major problem unless one of trains happens to be at the end of a track and starts headbutting the loft wall!

So I have a theory. When the track power is switched off the 'Stay Alive' cap will supply the decoder with its' required voltage for about half a second. After that the decoder gives up and shuts down and then any excess voltage left in the cap is fed directly to the track which makes the trains jump forward until the cap is fully discharged.

So my questions -

Is my theory correct or am I just talking rubbish!?

Is there any way this unwanted lunge can be avoided?

Thanks for any help.

I suspect you are sort of right NG.  I think that what is happening is that the stay-alive is maintaining volts in the decoder as it is still charged (forget about the track being involved) and the decoder reads this DC, goes into DC mode and moves off until the capacitor is discharged.