Railmaster and Old DC Trains

96RAF

Folk have reported DCC27 decoders giving trouble to the point of sending them back for a refund.

Is your 6-pin decoder plugged in correctly not that it should matter if lights are not involved.

Have you tried resetting your decoders by writing value 8 to CV 8.

If you double click on CV7 in RM loco programming there is a drop down list of all decoders that are compatible with RM. you don’t need a loco to see this, just pretend you are reading a new loco and press the   icon.

Did not know about the DCC27's perhaps i'll look at a different decoder and try one of those. 

I'll give the reset ago as well.

Should Railmaster work with the Gaugemaster decoders? its anoying because they who control side work fine its just not being able to change the channel from the default 3

Hello all, 

I have recently move and now have space for my trains. I have a railmaster DCC system which is great but i am trying to convert my old DC trains as i have a number of them and don't want to loss them. There is alot online but it all proven confusing. 

I got a R7150 to try and fit. Now i can get the train to run forwards, however switching to the other direction it does not move the railmaster locks out and has to be unplugged to restart.

I tried the Gaugemaster GM-DCC27 and the train moves forward and backwards with no issue however with this i can't change the default address from 003.

Anyone have an suggestions as to what decoder to use that works with the Railmaster? 

These older trains only have basic wiring, no lights or sound so to me it should be simple.

You haven't told us what controller interface you are using with RailMaster. If it is an Elite and not an eLink, then you can use an Elite in other programming modes (register and/or operate) to configure a GM DCC27.

The eLink only supports the 'Direct' programming mode which is the one that can cause problems with the DCC27.