Programming issues

James3650

Hello all, 

Please bear with me as I am new to this. 

I have started a new train set and have the bellow controller. 

Hornby DCC select controller - R8213

I have a summerset bell, and flying Scotsman train set up as chanel 01 and 02 running perfectly. 

However I am having a few issues with 2 other trains that both have the same problem.

I have an R3292 BR black 0-4-0, and a R3370 TTS king class train. They are both fitted with an 8 pin mini NEM 652 decoder.

I have tried to program these to channels 03 and 07, they have a small burst of power when first placed on the track and then nothing. They won't accelerate in either direction. I have tried programming these to other channels and reprogrammed them to the same channel repeatedly but cant seem to get them to run. 

Would really appreciate and feedback or help that anyone can offer.

Thank you in advance.

What is the firmware revision number of your select?

The firmware revision number is displayed as the very first two digit number on the screen when you power the Select up. The current firmware is 16

If your firmware is old and if particular version 11 then that probably accounts for your issue. The Select firmware has been updated over the years to add support for a greater range of non Hornby decoders and improved support for Hornby branded decoders too. I am assuming here that your reference to 'mini NEM652' decoder is a non Hornby decoder. If this is just your terminology for a Hornby R8249 decoder, then it would help if you used the official Hornby part numbers to describe your decoders.

There is typically a 'one off' return to Hornby firmware upgrade charge of £15 plus your sending postage costs.

The current version 16 firmware gives you the previously unavailable capability to write to all CVs. Prior to version 16, CV writing was very limited.