Questions About DCC Wiring From a Beginner

DCC_Novice

Hi all,

As part of an attempt to stave off lockdown boredom, my friend gave me some model trains that were knocking around his house, as he knew I had some Bachmann 00 track in my loft that was rotting away without any locos to run on it. I'd like to use the opportunity to learn how to wire up a basic DCC setup, using a Hornby Select controller and a couple of sets of points, so if I pick up the hobby in the future when I have a house/suitable disposable income of my own, I have some prior knowledge. I'm not interested in adding lights, sounds, signalling etc. just yet as I'd like to get the basics down to a tee before I start focusing on other details.

I've never really attempted DIY/wiring before apart from in tech lessons at school, but I'm confident enough in my own ability to pick things up from videos, guides etc. to give it a good go. I do, however, have a couple of questions that I haven't been able to find answers to, or at least not in the sources I have been using (linked below). They are as follows:

-Do you connect bus wires directly to the track, or only through dropper wires? I have seen contradictory evidence regarding this point.

-What should the switches from point motors be attached to, and what does the 0V wire connect to? Obviously the motor itself has six connectors, two to the +ve and the -ve, two to the switch and one to the electro-frog point. I don't know where the sixth wire goes. Also, switches have three 'pins' on them- there is a lot of talk about connecting the middle pin to a 12V power source, but I'm not sure what that actually is (i.e. a free-standing source).

-How many dropper wires do you need on a stretch of track? My understanding is that one continuous section only needs one or two, but shorter sections between points each require one, as do points themselves (connected by the motor).