DCC beginners set-up using Hornby Select

Wartoncraghopper

Hello, this is my first post. Its been a long time since I played with trains and I need to get up to date! I am still a complete novice.

I have dusted off my old DC shunting layout during lockdown. Its a very simple shunting layout: a 1.5 m branch line with just four solenoid motorized points serving a couple of sidings and a goods shed. It is all connected, from the edge of the baseboard, to a 'walkabout' panel , about A4 landscape size, on which there is a Graham Farish controller fixed at one side and a small mimic control board with track diagram at the other end. There are largish latching push buttons to change the points. Its crude but it works fine; I only have 4 locos and I only ever operate one loco at a time. I sit 6 feet away, press the switches, the points clunk across, I turn the controller knob and my Hornby class 08 crawls away. I only occassionaly have to get up and help a loco limp across a point.

Now, having been impressed by the new DCC ready/fitted all-singing all-dancing locos, I want to upgrade the whole caboodle to DCC. BUT...I also want to replicate the same simplicity of my DC control panel. So, let me be clear, I do not necessarily want the larger two knob control of a Hornby Elite; I do not want a PC connection; I do not want a Railmaster software package; I do not want a handheld iphone controller or anything like that.

I simply want, and this is where I would like members advice..., perhaps a 4 amp upgraded Select with enough functionality to run just four locos (thats all) complete with their sound cards. ( perhaps a class 08 shunter, a class 05, a class 03, and a DMU/Railcar for instance)

I would like the Select to be mounted on a slim, maybe A3 sized box alongside a simple mimic board ( with small push button switches for points with led track lights) with a Sfx DCC decoder for the points inside the box) .