RailMaster eLink Throttle Slider problem.

Guest Chrissaf

Hi, I've had eLink for a few years but recently found that I can only select 2 speeds, selected using the > and >> tabs. (i.e. shunt or cruise). The slider doesn't seem to do anything, even though using it indicates different speeds. This applies to ALL of my DCC locos, around 10, of different makes. I' ve also found that I can only set a relatively low top speed since fitting the Hornby sound chip to a Bachmann class 20 even after tinkering with the settings, but can live with that.

What version of RailMaster are you using?

When exactly did this issue start?

Is there some specific event that happened just prior to this issue starting?

[RM update for example ... or new loco added to the roster etc]

Hi, I'm still on Railmaster v.1.72, and noticed the problem a couple of months ago, but was busy with scenery so ignored it. My main layout uses a  windows XP laptop, but I have a second Railmaster, newly registered that I now use on a windows10 laptop, for programming only, with a 'spare' black box from a Western Express set. I've switched the boxes and the problem persists, so is it a problem with my Railmaster installation on my old XP laptop? This old laptop struggles with wifi connectivity which I assume is why I'm still on v.1.72. (Though my windows 10 laptop is also on v.1.72)

The only recent event was the replacement of the DCC components chip with the Hornby sound chip in the Bachmann class 20.

So what happens if you use your recent Win10 installation to control your layout instead of the XP version. Does the issue go away. If it does, then that would prove it is definitely an issue with the 1.72 RailMaster installation on the old XP laptop as you suspect.

If the diagnostic test I have suggested above proves beyond doubt that the issue is with the XP Laptop RM installation, then I suggest you manually update the XP to 1.73 and test again.