DCC Short Circuit when adding Track Packs E & F

Guest Chrissaf

I’m new to model railways. I purchased a ‘mixed freight’ Hornby DCC train set that comes with two small locomotive and track pack A - it works fine. I then added track packs B, C and D and it still works OK. However, as soon as I added track packs E and F the Hornby DCC ‘‘Select’ controller, which comes with train set flashes ‘EO’, which I have since discovered means a short circuit. I added the DCC Hornby points clips on all six points as recommended, but the problem still persists and I really don’t know what to do to rectify this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

There is a high probability that one of the points included in the E & F Packs has got a factory 'short circuit' fault.

Remove those E & F Pack points one at a time from the layout and see which one if any clears the EO 'Short Circuit' display.

These Hornby point faults come up perhaps a bit too regularly. The last one to be raised on the forum was quite recent ... see this thread for details:

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/trackpack-system-no-power-to-outer-double-siding/?p=1/#post-354584

TIP: As a newbie poster on the forum, just be aware that the 'Blue Button with the White Arrow' is not a 'Reply to this post' button. If you want to reply to any of the posts, scroll down and write your reply in the reply text box at the bottom of the page and click the Green 'Reply' button.

See also – further TIPs on how to get the best user experience from this forum. TIPs include 'How to post images' and 'How to make links clickable'.

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/tips-on-using-the-forum/