Loco hesitation/stall at points

AceinOz

Hi, I am new to model railways. I started with a DC set up but after much youtube watching I have taken the plunge into DCC, albeit as simply as possible by purchasing a Select DCC controller. It all works fine except my smaller wheelbase locos (that came with the Mixed Freight set) pause and/or stall at some of the points. All the points have point clips installed. I would appreciate any advice as to what the issue might be.

It is an extremely common issue when the smaller [and much cheaper] 0-4-0 and sometimes 0-6-0 locos traverse Hornby points at slow to moderate speed. Apart from fitting a DCC 'Stay Alive' [can be difficult to find space in these small locos] there isn't an awful lot you can do about it that doesn't involve modifying the track in some way.

Such as, changing the Hornby points for another brand. The issue with Hornby points is that their design has not really been updated in years to be more reliable with the lighter short wheel-base locos that are common today, particularly ones that have been upgraded to DCC. The plastic frog area on Hornby points is quite large compared to other brands and being an old design with associated less specific manufacturing tolerances, the frog areas on the points can be more problematic for these short wheelbase locos with pickups that are very close together.