4 pin decoders and DCC ready

Twodinners

Hi all

i’m very new to model railways, and have just acquired a quite a few Hornby locos of various ages, as well as a few boxes of decoders, most of which are R7274’s, my question is can these decoders be used on all DCC ready locos? Or do I also need to get some R8249’s? There are some brand new locos and some very old ones, can every loco be converted to DCC?

sorry if this is a vague question, but I’m very new to modelling.

thanks all

sam

Virtually all locos can be converted to DCC, it's just a case of how hard is it to do and is it worth it.

DCC ready means there is a socket fitted to allow a suitable decoder to be fitted, it does NOT mean it already has a decoder fitted or supplied.

R7274 decoders are designed to plug into 4 pin sockets, mainly in small Hornby models. They could be converted to fit an 8 pin socket by cutting of or desoldering the 4 pin plug and replacing it with an 8 pin plug; is it worth the hassle? You could also cut off the plugs and use them to hard wire (solder in) models that don't have a socket fitted.

8 pin decoders and/or sockets are fitted to most Hornby locos, but some have 21 pin sockets, these are usually older sound fitted models. More recent Hornby sound fitted models use the TTS decoders which are all 8 pin, I believe.

Check each loco individually to see what socket is fitted and then buy a matching decoder.

There are many decoder makers and some of the best are Zimo, Lenz and ESU. Hornby decoders are OK but have a limited range of adjustments (CVs - Configuration Variables)