Bachmann J72 31-062SF not working with Select Controller

Mike65

I'm new to DCC and am having a problem I'm hoping someone can help me with please?

I've just bought a brand new Bachmann J72 0-6-0 with sound fitted (31-062SF) and I have a factory upgraded new Hornby Select controller to V1.6.

On taking the J72 out of the box and putting it on the track as '03' on the controller, it went slowly round. I then tried to assign it a new address, but it will not take it and will now not move.

The hornby Select says that the red light on the controller should flash 7 times, but with the J72 on the track it only flashes three times, so not sure if the loco is compatible with the Select controller?

I have another hornby DCC sound fitted loco that works fine.

If you could help it would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Mike

Suggest you starting by writing 8 to CV8 which will reset all decoder settings to factory including putting the address to/back to 03. Then try again.

Make sure the J72 is the only thing on or connected to the track otherwise you will reset everything.

Any idea which sound decoder is fitted to that loco ..................

Info below lifted from a retailers website:

SOUND FITTED – Fitted with a ESU Loksound Micro V5DCC Sound Decoder – See below for function list

Length 115mm

SOUNDS

F1 - Sound On / Sound Off

F2 - Brake (activates brake sounds and increases the rate of deceleration)

F3 - Cylinder Drain Cocks

F4 – Whistle (Playable)

F5 - Normal Load / Heavy Load

F6 (STATIONARY) - Firebox Door Open (red firebox light flickers)

F6 (MOVING) - Firebox Door Open (red firebox light flickers and yellow light pulses in time with the exhaust)

F7 - Injectors

F8 - Whistle

F9 - Flange Squeal

F10 - Shovelling Coal (F6 must be On to activate this function)

F11 - Blower (with F6 On and the locomotive stopped the red and yellow firebox lights will also flicker)

F12- Hand Brake (locomotive will not move with the Hand Brake applied)