Do I need Flux

Geoffrey-370803

Hi all,

firstly, sorry if this seems a silly question or is repeated.

I am a decrepit old fogey returning to model trains after, nigh on, 58 years. I have recently started to build my first (and probably last) layout. The problem I have is, I am also new to soldering and through watch a myriad of tips via YouTube vids I have now become confused and somewhat anxious.

I understand that to achieve good soldering outcomes I should use flux. Now, here is my concern. I have started to use Baker’s Fluid No. 3, which did improve my results BUT I have since seen a vid from a modeller and an article from DCC concepts which state that this product is very harmful to Nickel Silver tracks. Is this correct and if so, what is the most suitable flux to use.

thanks in anticipation.

If you use pre-fluxed solder, (readily obtainable) there is no need to add more. What's very important though is to make sure both surfaces to be soldered are really clean, otherwise you'll have trouble making the solder stick. Oh, and good luck with your return to the hobby. I returned after a similar time gap.

Ah, the 'Black Art' of soldering! Actually, it's not a Black Art at all. But you do need to be aware of several things.

I do not recommend using Lead Free solder! Instead, look for lead content resin cord solder, usually referred to as 60/40 Tin/Lead. Lead free solder requires a much higher iron temperature to melt correctly which many domestic irons and particularly older ones can't quite reach. 60/40 solder is readily available online and in some electrical stores.

You normally do not need any flux. Its already built into the solder. Never use acid based flux for electrical work, as acid flux has to be washed off once soldering is completed and that is not possible with electrical soldering work! There are some flux compounds sold specifically for electrical soldering DCC Concepts and Carrs sell them but generally you really don't need them!