Elite and Select Controllers ON/OFF Switch or Button

Martinspans

Hi, my name is Martin and I am new to the world off DCC. I am also a newcomer to this forum so please be gentle with me.

Please could somebody tell why the Hornby Elite and Select Controllers do not have a simple on/off switch or button? It seems

rather ridiculous to me that I either have to pull the cable out from the Unit or switch off at the mains when my system is not in use.

Also, after I purchased the Elite controller last week I upgraded to Ver 1.41. Since the upgrade (and reading the

latest user guide for that version of firmware) I cannot see any use for the On/Off button located at the top left of the controller, adjacent to the emergency stop. Maybe I have missed something??

If my belief is correct and this button no longer has

a use, then could Hornby consider releasing a new version of firmware that will utilise this button as proper ON/OFF button for the device? To me (who happens to deal in ergonomics) this is the ideal location for an On/Off button. However to be safe you could

include in the software a requirement to hold the button in for two or three seconds for the actual On/Off operation to occur.

Many thanks for your time.

Hi

Personally, I can no point in switching the Elite or the Select Off via any On/Off button on the unit! The mains power supply would still be on and consuming electrical power even with the console turned off. So no gain really! In fact its actually

safer to turn off and unplug the power unit at the mains socket.

The On/Off button does have a function when its used with the R8245 Sapphire decoder for fuel simulation. See Elite manual 1.41 pages 49 & 50.

Flashbang,

Many thanks for your reply.

While I 100% agree with you that it is ultimately safer to disconnect any piece of electrical equipment from the mains, I cannot agree with you that you are still consuming power. Yes the mains power