why does my loco's keep stopping

Mark187

Hi I am very new to this I have the mixed freight set with all the track packs all my track is tacked down and I am using the select controller with 1 amp power supply. I only have 1 point motor fixed and is flicked by a lever, the brown and black wire

go into the back of the select, however everytime I flick the points the train stops and I have to keep pressing select to get the trains code again before I can make the train move. is 1 amp power not enough, also can someone explain why my trains when going

slow over points keep stopping I have tried cleaning the track where it stops at lots of times with a track rubber but this does not seem to make a difference, and I am now pulling my hair out as I said I am very new to this please help..

The one amp power supply doesn't have enough "oomph" to power points directly and causes the Select to shut down or stop working properly.

You can use the 4 amp power supply (c7024 or P9300w) to power the Select to overcome this problem or use a

point and accessory decoder or use a totally separate power supply (and optionally a cdu - Capacitor Discharge Unit) to power the points.

Locos stopping on points is a well known problem usually happening to small 4 or 6 wheeled locos when one of the

wheels reaches the plastic frog which prevents the power reaching the loco. Check that the point is perfectly flat and that none of the plastic parts of the point stick up above the metal rails and make sure that any track pins in the point aren't hammered

in too far and causing the point to distort. Also make sure the loco wheels are clean on the treads and also the backs of the wheels where the pickups make contact.

Rog has it spot on for you. To explain on changing points a little further, solenoid point motors draw a high current for a short period and clearly it's enough to overload the Select and cause it to shut down, e en if briefly. A CDU is used to store charge