Loco's stop/ stop starting in black spots.

Railway_Ron

Hi Guys'

I am new to this DCC concept, but I'm slowly getting my head around it. I have an 8 x 6 foot, 3 ring layout. I laid it all out first, checked it - yes, power to all parts of the layout. Tested it (I'm using Hornby eink) with 2 loco's running

around in different directions crossing points an so on, 2 loco's on the same line. All worked well.

I have began to fasten the track down and started creating scenery for my layout and test it at regular intervals, but I have now noticed that on the back

straight the loco's hit a specific spot and the loco's either stop fully or they have intermediate stop start at slow to medium speed. The only way they keep running is if they are at almost full speed. Tested the track and there is power, its even got power

directly under the loco where it has stopped. I have cleaned the track with a track rubber, lightly sanded the rails to ensure that there is no clue of paint on them, I've even been along with white spirits - but the trains keep on stopping and I don't know

why. I have spoken to a local stockist how suggested that I may not have enough power. To check this I have created just the 1 single track and an the loco again, still has stop start issue's. It's not a particular loco that's a fault, as it does it no matter

which one I run on this line. Has anyone got any Ideas?

Hi RR, for a start, take that piece of sandpaper and throw it in the bin. Sanding leaves fine scratches that accumulate dirt, not a good idea at all. Isopropyl alcohol is the suggested cleaner, either bought straight or as part of any number of proprietary

cleaners.

The only thing I can think of is that one track section doesn't have good contact from fishplates at either end and so has current limitations. Is that a possibility?