Motorised Points help

mjk911

Hi, i am new to model railways (although i did kind of have a set when i was a kid) and after recently being brought a pack with the e-link system i am looking to get a decent layout set up. I recently bought a couple of motorised points, the ones that

sit on the top of the layout, and a switch for changing it. I set it up as stated on the pack but when i try and change points it tries to change it but fails. It seems like there is not enough power running to it and the motor cant quite change the points.

Is this because it doesn't work on the DCC layout? I do want to get an accessory decoder but the hornby one is not going to be available for a long time and i'm not sure which one to get. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

To operate a point by using switches you should really be using a separate power supply. A point motor takes about 3 - 4 amps which is far too much to take from the elink.

The alternative is to operate the points digitally via a stationary decoder

such as the R8247 accessory decoder, although these are like hen's teeth at the moment.

I had exactly the same problem (though I was using the 16V AC supply from a conventional controller). The solution was to get a Capacitor Discharge Unit. (not sure if Hornby make them but there are several manufacturers that do). These give a momentary

boost to the current (?) going to the motor allowing it to switch. Mine can change two points simultaneously and up to four (at a push) though you will need to wait a second or two for the capacitors to charge between each operation.

Also, does your

point switch one way and not the other. If this is the case the motor might be on the limit of its travel one way and not enough on the other.

It is confusing for those with less experience to post incorrect information.

You should not use a CDU to operate motorised points. (In any case the pulse width may not be long enough)