Function Mapping

michael.hamilton

I have an R2900XS sound loco and I would like to adjust CVs so that the airhorn signal (F13) operates when I press function 4 so that I can use it on a layout controlled by a Select.

The loco has a LokSound V3.5 decoder.

I have been reading up on function mapping, but so far I'm a bit lost. 

I'm no expert but can I suggest the answer must be in the manual for the 3.5, which you can download from the Loksound site if you don't already have it. Somewhere in there it must show the CVs that dermine which sounds relate to which functions and so tell you which ones you need to change. It may be hard to find as the manuals are long because the decodes are very capable and it takes many pages to cover their full functionality. 

I've found the relevant section in the manual, but I admit defeat in understanding exactly which CVs need to be changed (and pehaps calculated) to achieve the outcome I would like.

Suffice to say I have had to reset the decoder using CV8 several times today.

Perhaps someone can solve it for me.

I have a feeling you can't do what you want to, michael. I've never needed to change functions and wouldn't really have a clue about how to do it. Don't forget that some of them are universally accepted standard settings, eg F1 always seems to be sound on/off. I assume you've looked up the Loksound site, and perhaps you could ask them whether this can in fact be done. I appreciate your function limitations on the Select and perhaps you would really need to upgrade to an Elite, which I use.

@Michael

From what I have read and can understand it is possible to change functions on the Loksound decoder. I have copied the text from the LS 4 manual but assume it will stand up for inspection for the LS 3.5 decoder too.

Whilst I have no experience of these decoders I do understand simple electronics and programming. You may have spotted this text yourself but if not it is within the manual itself on the LS site... page 50.