Where's CV2?

Wobblinwheel

I recently purchased my first British locomotive. I stumbled on a Youtube video that depicted the "Mallard" and other class A4 steamers. I thought they were the WILDEST looking engines I's ever seen! I've been modeling US railroads for nearly 30 years (Norfolk & Western, Pennsylvania RR) and I had to have an A4. Anyway, to make a long story longer, my new loco is a Hornby "Railroad" A4 MALLARD that is "DCC fitted". Upon re-programming it to it's new address (6), I attempted to change the START VOLTAGE, usually CV2, to get the loco going before speed step 10, as it is now......NO GO! CV2 didn't change a thing that I could tell. Does UK stuff use a different CV for this?, or not at all? (I notice you guys don't like headlights on your steamers, either!?) I like to program my engines so they just get going at speed step 1. Can I do that with this one?

Also, I notice the decoder has the outputs for "lighting". Does anyone know what the voltage output is from this output? I'm looking to find some of those little "lanterns" you Brits call headlights. (a little help here, also) that I would imagine have LED's in them? I saw a vintage video where the "driver" went to work and had to pick-up his "lanterns" from the office so's he could "stick" them on his engine! That just seems so WEIRD to me! (lol) Here in the States, we like to SEE what we're fixing to run over! By the way, prototypically, were those lanterns battery-operated? I didn't see any WIRES. Thanks for any input you might have.....M.C.

Hi wobblin, for a start, all DCC equipment is the same made to the same NMRA standard, so CV2 will always be Start Voltage.