Changing loco address

Hi Guys,

Sorry if this has been discussed, Ive done a search but couldn't find exactly what my problem solution is.

Basically, I have an e-link with railmaster powering my layout. After much frustration, Ive got the basics to work, but, now having issue with changing loco's ID address.

I am using hornby 8 pin DCC decoder as Im only really bothered about lights and movement.

On putting in the DCC decoder, the locos work on ID 3 (the factory setting) with no issues. I put the loco on the programming track, follow the instructions to change the ID, complete the process and put the loco back on the main track under its new ID. However, nothing happens. Nil. Nada. Zilch.

I put it back on the programming track, try chane the CV's just incase, and still nothing. I programme the ID back to address 3, and hey presto, the loco works fine again.

However, given I cannot run all my loco's on ID 3, how do I go about changing the ID?

Many thanks in advance.

I agree with Ray.  

It may be that you are not changing the id at all, either from 03 or back to 03, in which case it has been on 03 all the time.

Does the Loco still work on id 03 when you think you have changed it to something else.

No the loco doesn't work on 3 when I think Ive changed it, its completly unresponsive. I will try the CV 1-8 idea tomorrow, hopefully that works.

Thanks for the suggestions so far.

You have probably already done this, if you have sorry but have you also changed the locos ID in the loco listing on railmaster as well the loco?

Given you are using RM to change the ID, I don't think you can do one without the other Colin?

Having made a change to the ID, have you read back CV1 as suggested by Ray to see what it says?  I am assuming you are trying to change it to a short ID (under 100).

One of my Elites has no PROG output so I get round it by doing CV changes in Operate Mode on the main, including CV1 which the manual says you can't change.