Non-running Loco - Any Help Please?

pidge123

Hi everyone, some help please. I have just brought a Hornby R2559 Princess Margaret Rose DCC fitted from a seller on line. When I try it on my track I get no response at all. I'm no expert but the decoder looks like a Hornby. Have tried re-addressing it but still no luck, all other trains work OK on the track. I have a Hornby select controller. Is there a list of potential reasons, I was thinking of just replacing the decoder with a new one.

Do you know anyone with a more advanced controller who can reset the decoder for you?

There's also a chance that the previous owner did not turn DC off, so if you have an old DC controller you could try testing the loco with that.

What Poliss was trying to say is, if it currently has a four digit address there is a CV that needs to be changed to convert it back to accepting two digit addressing. Since you have a Select controller you are not able to change this particular CV in question as the Select can not read and write CVs other than the two digit address and a couple of others that are built into the command menu structure.

Contact the seller and ascertain the last known address, if it IS a four digit address you will need to take your loco to someone (a shop, repairer, friend, club) who has a better quality controller to make the CV change for you. Once it is re-configured to accept two digit addressing, then you can use your Select to configure a new address in the range 1 to 59

Or just dump the Select for a better controller.

Of course fitting a new decoder would restore the factory two digit addressing default.

All of this of course assumes that 4 digit addressing is in fact the loco problem. Not that you can do it with the Select, but if someone you know can write value 8 to CV8, that would return the existing decoder to factory default and make the loco ID 03.