Hornby 0-6-0 DCC throws itself into reverse?

Parrish

My Hornby 0-6-0 DCC loco has problems.

difficult to start! If I apply slight pressure to the loco she then picks up the signal, I have cleaned wheels to no avail.

after she has started and I move onto ano loco without any control she throws herself into reverse and always at the same position on the track, but not every time!

I am running two other DCC locos which behave perfectly well on the Same track.

im new to DCC any suggestions?

Steve

Sounds like the power pick-ups aren't making proper contact, maybe the wheels or elsewhere inside.

I'm betting it goes into reverse as it goes over the points. What happens is a wheel touches the left and right rail at the same time, making a short circuit. This makes the loco think it's on DC and runs away out of control.

Check that the back to back distance between the wheels is 14.4mm +/- 0.05mm.

If you have the Elite you can turn of DC in CV29. You can't do that if you have the Select.

... and re address the three locos ...

I don't understand.  I thought the other 2 Loco's were OK, if so, the controller must be OK as well.

If I have understood correctly, the problem occurs at the same place but not every time, on the one Loco.  Where is that place (as asked above by poliss)

Surely, you just need to concentrate on the Loco that has the problem.

... and re address the three locos ...

I don't understand.  I thought the other 2 Loco's were OK, if so, the controller must be OK as well.

If I have understood correctly, the problem occurs at the same place but not every time, on the one Loco.  Where is that place (as asked above by poliss)

Surely, you just need to concentrate on the Loco that has the problem.

Yes two other locos run fine, for whatever reason the troublesome loco will not take ano address either.

happens on a 2nd radius curve which is part of an inner track.