Advice for a new live steamer

david_wakefield

Hi guys

I am new to live steam and have just got hold of a used Dwight D Eisenhower in excellent condition.

I have read all the information and watched the videos and can get her to run fine and to stop her.

When I want to change direction, I carry out the correct procedure and the whistle tells me that a chance of direction has been set.

On the green light she goes in the same direction as before.

However if you move the loco in the appropriate direction by hand it works fine every time.

The only thing I can think of is that it needs running in as she looks unused.

Any ideas guys.

Dave.

/media/tinymce_upload/58a2e3bd568aee0644ad792e6666f152.jpg

in know this is not an A4 but the forward and reverse is the same one thing that can happen is if you look at the picture above you will see the F&R brass gear in the centre of the engine with the regulator arm fix to a pin on the gear below this you can see a brass finger pointing down its this finger that turns the F&R gear which is just showing in the foreground. If you put the engine on the track with the body removed you can see the complete operation of this unit 

if the fixing screw for this gear assembly comes loose which they do from time to time the the brass finger will move up and away from the gear on the valve shaft so that the correct valve setting will not be selected and no change in direction which you have.

To fix the problem you must remove the supper heater and gain access to this screw and thigh ten it up but take great care as the threads can strip in the soft metal casting

hope this helps if the thread has gone then Hornby and John can maybe help if you send it to him.

Hi david

great that you ave discovery the fault if the screw is removed from the gear take care when refitting the brass finger the right way up and do not loose the very small spring in the drawing that keeps the finger in contact with the gear.