Beginers question on Dcc compatability.

Scorpians

First off let me say this is a cool forum with helpful people and iv learned alot by just reading. ok i have a frieghtmaster pack from when i was younger. i have got back into it and would like to make a layout.

if i went out and bought a dcc set,

would my 37 still work on it. also the new sound ones are awsome i thinking of geting one of them but im not sure on the whole dcc aspect. maybe im overthinking it, anyone can shed some light or point me in the right direction i would be greatful.

my

plan is have an outer ring with a HST in swallow livery for passenger and inner ring and sidings for frieght.

Any loco that you want to run on DCC must be fitted with a DCC decoder (chip). Most modern locos have a socket fitted ready for a decoder to be plugged in. These are called "DCC ready".

Older locos that don't have a socket fitted need to have the

decoder soldered in, called hard wiring. There are quite a few sites that give details of how to do this and plenty of people on this site who will be willing to guide you through the process.

There is a facility on some DCC controllers to run one loco

that has not been converted to DCC but this is not recommended as it can quickly burn out the motor on some models.

Although the older loco(s) can be converted successfully (and mine have been converted to Zero-1, 30 years ago, and then to dcc this decade), I have to suggest, that since the release of the economical 'Railroad' range, you might like to consider buying

the new Railroad (remotored) versions which also have all-wheel pickup instead of (typically) just one side of each bogie. The newer models also have better wheels standards in many cases.
By all means keep your favourite bodyshell - but use it on the new

chassis for better running and taking less current!